Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
On the Legality of MxO EMU
11-19-2009, 04:43 AM,
RE: On the Legality of MxO EMU
I suppose anything with large numbers would be putting a target on our backs. If finances are needed, I'm sure the loyal community will do what needs to be done.
11-19-2009, 04:50 AM,
(11-19-2009, 02:30 AM)Morpheus Wrote: i would like to know how to get a server for free if no incoming available.

And i mean a dedicated one, where new versions of the server could be deployed.

You can collect donations for a server and website space. That part is legal. The Devs just can't put any money into their own pocket.
11-19-2009, 08:24 AM,
Wtb lvl 50.... Will paypal ;p
11-20-2009, 05:15 AM,
(11-18-2009, 02:31 PM)Rxu Wrote: I'm no lawyer but if the folk's of SWGEMU can run a server without SOE or Lucasarts over their ass, I think it's safe to say we are in the clear.

Smile

Lyr
11-24-2009, 08:55 AM,
Sounds good.
11-25-2009, 02:08 AM,
It is a very interesting discussion.

Is it legal or not ?
I think its a "greyzone" , the server for itself isnt really illegal..sure SOE Eulas say "you dont have to use server emulators" etc..but : you can start mxo with "noeula" - just kidding.

At least i think SOE and WB dont care about MxO and i think they are not interested in this.
And if we dont make "profit" with this (it is just a fan project) it shouldnt be a big problem i think.

I think general this "private server" topic is a very hot topic...cause there are several games out there and some of them are "died" too.

On "normal" Single Player Games, a game can never die, cause you can play it in 10 years too if you want (like super mario bros 1 or maniac mansion), but at MMORPGs you need the Server Application to play the game in 10 years again.

I think for the reason that we only want to have the ability to play our favorite online game after the official servers are shut down, this shouldnt be a big problem.